Mocrocks Beach Clam Digging

Clam Digging Map

Clam digging is scheduled at Mocrocks Beach in Ocean Shores, as announced by the Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife. (WDFW).

Sometimes digs are canceled with little notice if toxins or other issues arise with the shellfish population.

WDFW  typically announces whether a dig will go forward about a week before the opening, said Dan Ayres, coastal shellfish manager for the department.

Be sure to double-check with the Department of Fish and Wildlife schedule before you make a special trip.

Abundant Razor Clams Allow More Days for Digging!

State shellfish managers have tentatively scheduled additional razor clam digs on Washington ocean beaches for dates in October, November, and December.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) divides the harvest areas into five major management zones.  Copalis Beach just to the north of Ocean Shores has 17 scheduled days from October 29 to December 28.  Mockrocks Beach, a further north, has 16 days scheduled.

Sometimes digs are canceled with little notice if toxins or other issues arise with the shellfish population.  The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) typically announces whether a dig will go forward about a week before the opening, said Dan Ayres, coastal shellfish manager for the department.

“Abundant razor clam populations on all beaches, except Kalaloch, are allowing for more digging opportunity this year,” said Ayres. “But, it is important that razor clam diggers be sure to only dig where it is allowed.”

Razor clam diggers can find detailed beach maps that indicate locations and local names for beaches on WDFW’s website at https://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfishing-regulations/razor-clams#beachmaps.

Be sure to double-check with the Department of Fish and Wildlife schedule before you make a special trip.

Razor clams are found primarily on the intertidal coastal beaches (those that are exposed at low tide) from a +3 foot level to a -2 foot tide level.

 Tentative Clam Digging Schedule 

Oct 26 Sat 5:59pm 0.0 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Oct 27 Sun 6:47pm -0.8 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Oct 28 Mon 7:33pm -1.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Oct 29 Tue 8:18pm -1.4 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Oct 30 Wed 9:03pm -1.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Oct 31 Thu 9:50pm -0.8 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 1 Fri 10:38pm -0.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 11 Mon 5:51pm 0.1 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 12 Tue 6:27pm -0.3 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 13 Wed 7:03pm -0.5 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 14 Thu 7:41pm -0.6 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 15 Fri 8:22pm -0.5 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 16 Sat 9:08pm -0.3 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 17 Sun 9:59pm -0.1 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 24 Sun 4:47pm -0.4 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 25 Mon 5:34pm -1.0 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 26 Tue 6:18pm -1.3 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 27 Wed 7:02pm -1.4 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 28 Thu 7:44pm -1.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Nov 29 Fri 8:29pm -0.7 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mockrocks
Nov 30 Sat 9:10pm -0.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Dec 10 Tue 5:28pm -0.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Dec 11 Wed 6:06pm -0.6 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Dec 12 Thu 6:45pm -0.9 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Dec 13 Fri 7:26pm -1.0 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Dec 14 Sat 8:08pm -1.0 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Dec 15 Sun 8:53pm -0.8 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Dec 16 Mon 9:41pm -0.4 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Dec 23 Mon 4:35pm -0.4 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Dec 26 Thur 6:47pm -1.1 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Dec 27 Fri 7:26pm -0.9 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Dec 28 Sat 8:05pm -0.6 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis
Dec 29 Sun 8:43pm -0.2 Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
 How many clams can you dig?

 

 

State law allows clam diggers to keep 15 clams. They must be the first 15 dug which means clammers may not throw back clams that are too small or that they cut through while digging. Each person’s clams must be kept in a separate container, this makes it easier for law enforcement to ensure each person is obeying the 15 clam limit.

Do you need a license to go clam digging?

Yes. Interested diggers can purchase licenses online at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov. If you need it sooner than 10 days you must go in-person to a licensing vendor. Ace Hardware is the only vendor inside Ocean Shores and tends to get very busy during clam digs. Clammers should try to buy a license before arriving. Find more license vendors here: http://wdfw.wa.gov/licensing/vendors.

Razor clam digging equipment.

Most importantly you will need something to dig with and something to store your clams in. Clam diggers also need to prepare for the weather which will probably be damp, cold, and windy.